Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers. Geography. Nothing specific for you sadly but i just finished a section of my world map that is desert so I have some thoughts kicking around. If your working off of a real historical base, not only will it be far easier to avoid cliche and caricature, but you mind even find unexpected inspiration you can weave into your story. Im a professional fiction editor, and when I was in university for my English literature BA, something else that also fascinated me was psychology and sociology. A realm of extremes, invoking the supposed primitive past, or the desolate future. Note: in real life, trying to drink water from the cacti, succulents, mosses, and gymnosperm plants adapted to store it actually sickens people. Another trick is just to look at the tropes of the stereotypical "exotic desert people" and put a new twist on a few them. Its almost single-handedly played the biggest part in shaping our evolution as a species. You use your non-dominant hand, then you use fistfuls of sand to dry and abrade it off. Written texts? Finally comes how you wipe your butt. The stars would be pretty important as well to tell what direction you are going in and so on. My worldbuilding is pretty heavily based on the ancient world, and i aimed to go a little off the beaten path for inspirations (not too much, though). Write down answers to the cue questions as you make your setting notes. Usually they pass fast 30 mins up to 1h. However, I'd like to avoid making it a cliche super exotic desert land you can sometimes see in stock fantasy. Typically arises with abundant sand, and groups may resemble ripples from an aerial view. Welcome back, Outlander, to the 6th entry in. The creation of new worlds and new universes has long been a key element of speculative fiction, from the fantasy works of